From Toddlers to Teens: Favorites for Everyone!

Posted on Updated on

FullSizeRender 327

If the young readers in your house need something new to read, we’ve got them covered. Check out our back issues of staff favorites or come look at the newest selections on our shelves. Here are a few our booksellers are especially loving right now:

Picture books
Recommended by Rae Ann

When's My Birthday? Cover ImageWhen’s My Birthday? 

A beautiful picture book about birthdays and waiting.

Recommended by Rae Ann

Philomena's New Glasses Cover ImagePhilomena’s New Glasses 

I can’t resist a picture book starring animals wearing glasses! This book about sibling rivalry features three guinea pig sisters appearing in photographic illustrations. Simply delightful.

Recommended by Kevin

They All Saw a Cat Cover ImageThey All Saw a Cat 

A beautifully illustrated, funny, and imaginative picture book, They All Saw A Cat shares visions of a cat from a diversity of perspectives, each of which sees it slightly differently. This book creates a natural starting point to consider with your child why such a variety of beliefs and opinions exist among people – which makes it a timely book, too.

EmilyArrow

Love picture books?

Join us in the store! Don’t miss picture book sing-alongs with entertainer Emily Arrow every Thursday at 4 p.m., and regular storytime with a rotating cast of readers on Saturdays at 10:30.

Chapter book
Recommended by Rae Ann

A Dog Like Daisy Cover ImageA Dog Like Daisy 

A Dog Like Daisy stars a shelter dog chosen for service training for a veteran suffering from PTSD. Daisy narrates the story as she attempts to make peace with the family’s bearded dragon and keep her job so she won’t have to return to the pound.

 YA
Recommended by Ashley

Eliza and Her Monsters Cover ImageEliza and Her Monsters

If you have ever had a meaningful internet friendship or been a part of a huge fandom, this book is for you. Eliza is the anonymous author of one of the biggest webcomics ever and I loved being pulled into her many worlds. This book is pitch-perfect, romantically perfect, and perfect perfect. Did I mention I think it’s perfect?

Recommended by Ashley

Little & Lion Cover ImageLittle & Lion 

After Pointe (um, hello, go read that if you haven’t), I waited and waited and waited for Brandy Colbert’s next novel. I was not disappointed. Tackling the always timely topics of sexuality, mental health, and the beautifully, murky path that we walk when we love someone. Perfect for fans of Julie Murphy and Nina LaCour.

ParnassusNext — September Selection

Screen Shot 2017-09-11 at 9.03.47 AMJane, Unlimited

“Some authors can tell a good story; some can write well. Kristin Cashore is one of the rare novelists who can do both,” The New York Times has raved. Now Cashore makes her highly anticipated return to YA with Jane, Unlimited. We’re absolutely enthralled by it! Here’s more about the story, from the publisher:

A kaleidoscopic standalone novel about grief, adventure, storytelling, and finding yourself in a world of seemingly infinite choices: Jane has lived an ordinary life, raised by her aunt Magnolia, an adjunct professor and deep sea photographer. Jane counted on Magnolia to make the world feel expansive and to turn life into an adventure. But Aunt Magnolia was lost a few months ago in Antarctica on one of her expeditions.

Now, with no direction other than her obsession with making umbrellas that look like her own dreams (but mostly just mourning her aunt), Jane is easily swept away by Kiran Thrash — a glamorous, capricious acquaintance who shows up and asks Jane to accompany her to a gala at her family’s island mansion called Tu Reviens.

Jane remembers her aunt telling her: “If anyone ever invites to you to Tu Reviens, promise me that you’ll go.” With nothing but a trunkful of umbrella parts to her name, Jane ventures out to the Thrash estate. What Jane doesn’t know is that Tu Reviens will offer her choices that can ultimately determine the course of her untethered life. But at Tu Reviens, every choice comes with a reward, or a price.

“Absolutely addictive and fascinating, Jane, Unlimited is storytelling at its best. Filled with spies, stolen artwork, cute dinosaurs, new worlds, and delicious romance, this book is everything you could hope for and more than you can imagine.”—Marie Rutkoski, author of The Winner’s Curse

* * *

ParnassusNext is our YA subscription box! Every subscriber receives a first edition hardcover of each month’s selected book, signed by the author. There is no membership fee to join — and no line to stand in for the autograph. You’re billed just for the cost of each book (+ shipping). Not only will you have one of the best YA books of the month when it comes out, you’ll have it straight from the author’s hands, with an original, authentic signature! Choose 3, 6, or 12 months for yourself, or buy a gift membership for your favorite YA reader.

Want more signed YA? 

Come check out our selection of autographed books for teens and YA fans!

FullSizeRender 326

PS: Did you hear who’s coming to Nashville?? JOHN GREEN!

DJIhm1yXcAAg3g5